Posted by: jeanannfrench | July 19, 2009

Monday, July 13

The first day was a long day, but good.  I got about 8 hours of sleep on the plane and changed clothes at the Brisbane airport, which helped a lot.  I had planned to make the change in Sydney with the 2 1/2 hr. layover, but I had to go through customs and walk the entire length of the airport with 3 – 50 lb. bags and two heavy carry-ons on baggage cart.  Then through security again, wait in line for the bus, and bus out to the airplane where I was in row 50!  I paid for upgraded seats on United and flew bulk head on the other two legs.  Not so bad, just a lot of flying.

I was picked up at the airport by Geoff Slaughter, who is my immediate supervising professor.  He drove me to the Springfield campus where I had an International students’ lunch, toured the facility, met with the director of the USQ Springfield campus, Doug, and then rode to my apartment with Debbie, Doug’s assistant in ‘my’ car, a Subaru.  The car is NOT mine, as it is a ‘pool’ car that needs to be available to others.  Geoff & Debbie stayed for about an hour and helped arrange furniture and tried to get me set up electronically and that’s a long story I don’t want to bother with.  Short story is that I did not get ‘hooked’ up with the Internet until Tuesday noon due to passwords, etc.  The 3 bedroom, 1 1/2 bath townhouse is fully furnished, but Debbie brought a linen package for me and Geoff ran out to buy some hangers as there was only ONE here.  They left around 5 PM.  I had to ask the manager of the complex for a log-on to their Internet and ended up meeting a lady in another building, Anne.  She offered me ‘a-cup-a’, which is tea and a little snack.  I sat and visited with her until it was dark and cold, which is only 6 PM.  I made the beds, had some Jenny Craig, put suitcases out on the beds, got out what I needed to go to bed, and then went to bed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

