Posted by: jeanannfrench | July 20, 2009

Monday, July 20

I really liked this picture of a huge grass plant at Cunningham Crest.

I really liked this picture of a huge grass plant at Cunningham Crest.

It was a good day, by noon anyway.  I was having some technological fits in the morning, but I had a break through and got some significant work accomplished in the afternoon.  I have to load my class and assignment schedule into an online framework and of course it is a different system than what I’m use to at CityU.

I had a confirming email from Judith Hutchison, President of the Brisbane Breakfast Club, and I will be speaking at the Brisbane Polo Club at 7am on August 7th.  I will take a train into the city and the Polo Club is a 10-15 minute walk.  The train ride is an hour, but the station is only 8 km from where I live.  Tonight I’m going to get out all of the meeting schedules for all of the Zonta clubs and plot them on the map and a calendar to see what I’ve gotten myself into.

I  made a test run to Jenny Craig tonight after work.  It’s probably about 5 km from here, but when it’s dark here . . . it’s DARK.  So many of the streets don’t have lights on them.  The food is nearly 100% different, as are the vitamins.  I’ll get started next Monday, meanwhile I had purchased the ‘healthy choice’ type frozen and packaged meals and complimented with fresh fruits and vegetables.  I haven’t cooked with anything other than the microwave.  There’s no way I want to try to stock up with seasonings and other basics for cooking.

Parakeet at Cunningham Crest

Parakeet at Cunningham CrestWe had to climb quite a few stairs to get to this look out, but it was worth it.

Responses

  1. Hey Gal! Looks like you are getting settled in quite nicely. I loved getting caught up with your blog. The tipping the porter with Jenny Craig food at SeaTac is priceless. Can’t wait to hear how much you come back with. Also loved to hear about the aborigine artwork – can’t wait to see it! What a great experience you’re having!

    Keep blogging!
    Holly

  2. I’m so happy for you. I can tell on your blog that you are having the time of your life. Good for you. I’m so glad you have this opportunity. Stay safe and BEHAVE!!! 😉

  3. I’m enjoying your blogs, too. Sometimes you forget things when you call, but you always write them down.

    Love,

    S


Leave a Reply

Categories

