Posted by: jeanannfrench | July 21, 2009

Tuesday, July 21

Fairly uneventful day with lots of preparation for delivering 6 hours of classroom time on Thursday and I’m not ready.  I have a lot more work to accomplish tomorrow.  I’m seeing some of the students on campus now that school has started and . . . do they look YOUNG!  I did go for a walk at lunch time to the Orion shopping center, which is about 12 minutes by foot.  I scoped out hairdressers, nail salons, and cell phone distributor.  I don’t have a phone in my unit and the school is not providing one, so I’m looking at getting a local sim card for my international phone.  It will only cost about $30AU.

My more interesting part of the day was this evening because I went to dinner with Phyllis, who is an aborigine.  She needed to interview me in order to paint my story.  She hasn’t done one in two years and doesn’t even share with people that it is something she does, however, she surprised herself when she made the offer to me so quickly (however, I may have asked too).  I may have already described it as ‘dot’ painting, but here’s a small sample:

The dots can tell a story with animals, rivers, deserts, rings of life, etc.
The dots can tell a story with animals, rivers, deserts, rings of life, etc.

The other lady in the office, Nancy, paints brightly colored pieces on stretched canvases and she loaned a couple to me to help brighten up my living unit.  All in all, another good day down under.

I had emails today letting me know that some of my auction items are trickling in.  Sparky is prompting his media contacts and clients as well.  It takes a full court press to get the job done.
Responses

  1. Jean Ann

    I am really enjoying the blogging of your adventure and your photos are awesome. This “dot” artwork looks so cool and how cool that you get to bring one home. Good luck with class on Thursday.

    Cheers!

  2. Thanks for sharing your blog. I am living vicariously through you! Sorry we didn’t connect before you left. Lots going on. I will share when we talk.
    Love and miss you!
    Janice

  3. Fascinating! Inspiring! I’m looking forward to reading more about your adventures in Australia. Let us know if you see any spiders.

  4. Thanks for including us in your adventures. Looks like a very interesting trip. Hope to see you when you return. Tony & Michele

  5. I read all the entries and particularly enjoy the photos and stories of the people you are meeting.

    glad the luggage worked out, bringing one more bag will I have to pay?

    be there in 38 days

  6. Hi!

    Your pics are beautiful! I hope you have a great experience. I have been busy taking Mom to appointments.

    Looking forward to more blog notices.

    Kathy

  7. Hey Jean:

    Love hearing about your adventures downunder, one day maybe I’ll get with it and start a BLOG but for now I plan on just doing as I have been with Word and e-mails to my friends. Hope you are reading mine as well.

    Rick


Leave a Reply

Categories

