Posted by: jeanannfrench | August 6, 2009

Monday, August 3

I was up and at ’em and off to campus – the BIG campus in Toowoomba, which is about 90 minutes to the west of Springfield.  Just like most state based universities, it was sprawling,  Somewhat on the outskirts of town with plenty of space.  I connected with Geoff Slaughter, my managing prof and he introduced me to several other lecturers (what we call professors) and then off to have coffee with Peter Best, Head of School – Faculty of Business.  Peter was instrumental in the negotiations of putting together the partnership between CityU and USQ.  Coffee from 10-11 AM.

At 11 AM I met with a photographer and we set off for a building where there was an Aboriginal piece of art.  She took multiple shots for the print piece that will go out to the local papers.  When I get a copy of the pics, I’ll display one.

Now, back to Geoff, I met him on campus and he took me to lunch at Picnic Point – the highest point in Toowoomba.  It had a terrific view of the city and area with a nice little restaurant, as well.  Geoff had meetings back on campus, so he dropped me off at my car and went to the Japanese Gardens that adjoined the USQ campus.  A couple of pictures for your viewing pleasure.

I now had about three hours to explore – so I did.  I drove back to the motel and picked up my directions for St. Ursula’s school where I was speaking at 6:30 PM.  It is dark by then so I needed to get the path down while it was light.  I also had the chance to take some pictures.  Then off to the Queens Park and Botanical Garden.  Hey, it’s the “Garden City” so I thought that I had better see some gardens.  I won’t bore you with all of the pictures I took of trees and flowers, but you’ll find them in my albumS.  Yes, ALBUMS!  I’ll have one each for USQ, Zonta activities, and adventures in AU.

Presto – chango, it’s time for the Zonta meeting.  I arrived at 6:30 and they had not finished their board meeting.  They were discussing starting an advocacy committee, so I was able to jump right in with stories about our club advocacy committee and how we started as an ad hoc committee to see how it went.  I told them about the DVS card program, letter writing campaigns, proclamations, and growing up to holding forums.  I gave them a copy of our 2008 Women’s Legal Rights DVD.  Then we had a lovely dinner of lamb chops and roasted root vegetables.  These ladies are classic Zontians, as there were 3 bottles of wine for about 9 of us!

Now, it was time for me to make the presentation.  I’m sure I took a full hour and they were engaged for the duration.  They gave me a lovely momento of a hand towel with a Toowoomba violet and a soap dish in the shape of AU with the violets repeated and Toowoomba Queensland enscribed.  There was a lovely card with this explaination of the violet: 

Toowoomba Violet – Floral Emblem Viola odorata “Princess of Wales” commonly known as the “Sweet Violet”

The violet was declared Toowoomba’s Floral Emblem at a meeting of Council on 11th January 1932.  the mothers and other family members of the lads who went to war in 19141918, picked and sold bunches of violets to raise funds.  the bunches each held 50 blooms and three leaves, tied with cotton and were sold for threepence. 1800 pounds were raised to build the Mother’s Memorial now located in East Creek Park.

 

Responses

  1. Glad you were able to get more updated on your blog.

    Love,

    S

  2. Honey, the pictures are GREAT!!! They add a lot. Great job (as always)!!! I am very, very proud of you.

    Love,

    S

  3. Really i appreciate the effort you made to share the knowledge.The hotels Toowoomba here i found was really effective to the hotels Toowoomba sites which i was researching for a long time, and if you want to see this types of sites and take an ideas then visit this sites :http://www.jamesstmotorinn.com.au/

  4. Hi Jean,
    I’m researching the Toowoomba Violet and would be keen to see photos of the hand towel and soap dish you received back in 2009

    • I’ll take the pics and send to your email.

      Jean Ann

  5. […] Toowoomba’s floral emblem, the Viola Odorata is a species of the genus Viola. Commonly known as the Sweet Violet it actually is a European native. It’s significance to Toowoomba and hence it being known around Toowoomba as the ‘Toowoomba Violet’ can best be explained by the following extraction that was found on Jean Ann French’s Blog. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

