Posted by: jeanannfrench | August 9, 2009

Friday, August 7

Up at 4:30 AM and wearing a hat so I don’t have to fix my hair!  I’m off for an adventure to Brisbane, mostly by train and the rest by car.  I was invited to attend the Zonta Breakfast Club of Brisbane a month ago.  They already had their speaker planned, so they asked me to offer about 10 minutes on the Zonta Everett Club.  At their July meeting, Nicky Jones heard some discussion about an American coming to speak and that she was connected to USQ Springfield.  Well, Nicky Jones is a law professor at the same place, so when I arrived, she made a special effort to greet me.  She also promptly offered some assistance in my transportation.

If you just read the frustrations that I had finding the train station, you need to know that on at least 3 occasions I considered bagging it!  The only thing that kept me going was that Nicky needed to stay in town and shop for a couple of hours, so that meant that I could see some of Brisbane.  Nicky lives in Indooroopilly, which is a town just outside of Brisbane, so that’s why I took the train to that odd sounding town.  She picked me up from the train station at 6:25 and we arrived at the Polo Club about 6:50.  Total attendance was about 30 and I delivered the piece on Zonta that I created for the grants I’ve written.  I had the donation list from 2007-2009 when we gave out $75,000 with $17,500 going to the International Foundation.  They were impressed with our fund-raising abilities and 80 year anniversary.  I hope to attend an event with them October 8.  They are doing a little fundraiser around the premiere of Julie and Julia with Meryl Streep.  I think it will be a lot of fun!

After the breakfast, 9 AM, Nicky went one way and I went another.  I was on a mission . . . buy Starbucks mugs for Toni and Tami, Sparky’s twin daughters.  Shortly after I landed here, I did a search for Starbuck’s in AU and found them in Brisbane, Sydney, and Melbourne.  Sparky has to haul them all home.  There was a shopping center / district just 3 blocks or so from the Polo Club and that’s where I found Starbuck’s.  I started at one of the gardens on the river and walked for about 90 minutes seeing the sites in the area.  I met Nicky back at the car and we reversed the process.  I was home by 12:15 and had the rest of the day to myself.  I mostly prepared for being out and about with appointments on Saturday.

Responses

  1. Good job, honey! I know Toni and Tami will be thrilled with the Starbucks mugs!

    Love,

    S

  2. Excellent pictures. They really make your blog come “alive” and make it much more interesting.

    Again, good job!!!

    Love,

    S


Leave a Reply

Categories

