Posted by: jeanannfrench | August 23, 2009

Sunday, August 23

I’m back and I’m exhausted and yes, the room is moving and swaying a bit.  I meant to mention that Cairns reminds me of Kona.  And the piece of information that is interesting is that the Kuranda railway took 8 years to get approved to build and ONLY 8 months to build!

It was an hour+ bus ride up to the dock and 90 minutes out to the platform and there was a sales pitch of some sort about 15 minutes.  A lot was included in the original deal, which was a crazy price, but . . . wait . . . there’s more.  You could be a marine biologist diving or snorkeling – for a price.  You could ‘walk under water’ for a price.  You could rent an underwater digital camera and keep the memory card for $60.  You could pay out the nose for the photos they took of you $22 for the first one and $20/each for the rest!  And don’t forget to buy the $106 video they took of you!  I don’t think I want to tell you how much I spent, suffice to say, a LOT.  After all, it IS THE Great Barrier Reef.

This is the first time I’ve traveled totally by myself since the short trip I took to Quito Ecuador in 2007.  Just so you all know, I missed Sparky, and can’t wait till he gets here.  I will enjoy traveling with Kylene and Mom as well.

I’ll let the pictures tell the rest:

Responses

  1. Absolutely GREAT pictures and blog, honey. Just fabulous!!! I am counting down the days until I leave on September 10th to meet you in Sydney!

    Love,

    S

  2. […] link, as I may have found a sneaky way to get you to the FB video)  While in Cairns I went to the Great Barrier Reef, took the Kuranda train and Skyrail.  All the other links are to my 2009 blog that tell the story […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

