Posted by: jeanannfrench | September 20, 2009

Sunday, September 20

MOTHER is HERE!  And, we’re off and running!  First stop was Paddy’s Market where we shopped for purses and we were successful with the purchase of 3 Prada knock offs.  We took a little longer of a walk than we wanted to from Paddy’s to Darling Harbor to catch our lunch cruise at King’s Wharf.

Our cruise started at 11:15 and went around the harbor by all the famous sights.  We got off at Circular Quay to meet my friend Les Pearson.  We headed for The Rocks – the oldest part of Sydney, which is at the base of the Harbour Bridge.  I had the crazy idea that I would walk the bridge, but once I fully understood the logistics and time (90 minutes total), I got over it.

Mom needed and wanted to sit and people watch, while Les and I headed deep into The Rocks to see the weekend markets and walk up to the pylon.  I didn’t count the number of steps that we took to get half way up the pylon, but we went up at least 15 flights.  You can tell by the pictures how high up we got.

We went back to pickup Mother, get an ice cream, and take the ferry to Manley for dinner.  Sparky and I went to Manley with Les and it is a cute little bay town.  On this Sunday the ferry was loaded both ways both times – the streets were hopping.  There was a threat of rain, so we ate at Les’ favorite hotel, The Steyne, at the very end of the street.  Just before we got on the ferry, I was able to photo my first sunset in Sydney.

We got back to the room around 7pm and Mom is totally crashed.  We meet Les in the morning at 10am for another fun filled day.

Responses

  1. Good time. I’m surprised you didn’t walk the bridge since you’d been talking about it for several days. I think when it came to reality, some good sense took over.

    Love,

    S

  2. Yeah, nice to know Mom is there safe and sound! Off and running – have fun, of course you always do! Look forward to hearing of more adventures!

  3. PURSES???? Man, I wish I were there!!! I love purses!


Leave a Reply

Categories

