Posted by: jeanannfrench | September 30, 2009

Wednesday, September 30

A somewhat quiet day, but busy nonetheless.  We had a slow morning and I went to campus for a few hours.  Mom kept busy making lunch and finishing up some more laundry.  I got home around 1pm and then we really started kicking butt.  Mom stirred up a batch of pumpkin pies that we made from real pumpkin. 

This all got started with me talking to my students about how much Aussies like pumpkin – they put pumpkin in everything and all savory (not sweet).  Of course I had to tell them about how good and special Mom’s pumpkin pie recipe is and when I got to the part about the pumpkin coming in a can . . . they went nuts.  They couldn’t believe for one that we eat it sweet, but the idea that mashed up pumpkin comes in a can was beyond their comprehension.  So, I have been planning for some time that Mom would make pumpkin pie for my students.  Of course, it has expanded a bit, and I’m inviting some of the staff to drop by and try the pumpkin pie during lunch.  The property manager here, Barry, got a treat this afternoon.  He had replaced a part on my dryer and was doing yard work, so we called him in for some iced tea and a pumpkin tart.  He said the pumpkin tart was ‘just beautiful’.  We could not find canned pumpkin, so we had to boil and mash a fresh one (only 1 lb worth).  I made a batch of chicken a la king for our lunch on Thursday.

Since we had heated up the kitchen, we decided to treat ourselves to dinner out.  We went to the Hog’s Breath Cafe.  I don’t know if they’re in the US, but I know that they’re in AU and NZ.  I got a beer glass from them in Aukland in 2002.  Another good day in Ipswich.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that I saw a dead kanga on the side of the road on my way to campus.  I had planned to take a picture of it on the way home to post on the blog, but it had been picked up AND I decided that it would probably gross out too many of you.

Responses

  1. I finally got to catch up on your blog. I liked what you wrote about us, Les looks great, Sparky was a great guest writer and sounds like you and mum had a blast. Good for you! Enjoy your last month….


Leave a Reply

Categories

