Posted by: jeanannfrench | October 13, 2009

Tuesday, October 13

What a great day on a great mountain!  I’m going out in style with a couple of special days on Mt. Tamborine.  I had breakfast with my hosts, Cheryl & Richard Wistow.  I was picked up by the Tamborine Trolley at 10 am and I was the only customer, so I had a private tour. 

Our first stop was at a family owned liqueur making shop.  I found about 8 that I wanted, but no way could I afford what I wanted, nor could I take it home.  After the first stop, everything else was played by ear.  The driver offered a tour of the mountain, a walk on the Skywalk, the Bontanical Garden, and final stop to a winery with lunch.

I spent mid-afternoon cooling down form the heat and humidity and emailing final reminders for auction donations.

My purpose for being on the mountain was to speak to a Zonta Club.  This club holds only one meeting per month, so it serves as business and program, which makes for a lengthy evening.  I received the most wonderful gift from the club . . . a scarf that was hand loomed with Australian tartan design.  It has gold and rust – the colors of the deserts and the rock in the middle of AU.  What a precious gift!

Responses

  1. just catching up, sounds like you are continuing to have a ball,,,and getting some work done! Enjoy and know that you will return someday. Youve done a great job and Im proud to call you my friend.

  2. That scarf is beautiful!! What a wonderful gift.

  3. […] We left at 9 am for our 70 minute drive.  Bemi had been to Mt. Tamborine a year ago and I stayed on Mt. Tamborine in 2009 when I spoke to a Zonta Club.  We were trying to figure out where we were on the local map when we […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

