Posted by: jeanannfrench | October 18, 2009

Sunday, October 18

I didn’t pack too much today, instead I began shuffling, perging, and organizing for packing.  I’m in pretty good shape.

What I did do is something I’ve wanted to do since I arrived . . . I went out to the Woodlands at Marburg for their Oktoberfest.

Overlooking the picturesque Marburg Valley just 15mins from Ipswich, the heritage-listed two storey plantation-style mansion is nestled amongst 250 acres of sweeping grounds and rolling hills.

Built in 1890, yet only open to the public for the first time in 2002 following extensive renovations and restorations, Woodlands of Marburg is a plantation-style estate which belies an intriguing past.  During the last century, the property has developed a diverse and significant local history with unique characteristics from each period including a Grotto (open-aired chapel) and a small cemetery from its days as a seminary in World War II.

 On my way home I stopped at Warrego Winery, but didn’t stay for a tasting.  However, the better show was the male peacock.
 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

