Posted by: jeanannfrench | October 30, 2009

Friday, October 30

 

Today went surprisingly well.  I did have a rough start, as I should have had help at 10am from the housing manager to load the van, but he didn’t show.  He got all jammed up because there were several thefts at Unilink last night.  The good news is that they didn’t get my computer . . . it would be devastating!  No worries, I found some folks to help and I still got to campus at 11am.  It was a crazy rush of off loading the stuff for storage and final posting of grades.

The lunch was held at Bremmer TAFE a vo-tech school that teaches restaurant and hospitality.  It’s a lot like Lake WA Tech College in Kirkland.  Here’s the link: http://www.bremer.tafe.qld.gov.au/ The lunch was lovely.  There were about 20 in attendance.  I didn’t cry today and I think it is because that everyone is convinced that I’ll return, so we toasted to “see ya later”, which is their sign off.  Also, there was no long drawn out speeches.  Geoff and I left lunch and headed straight for Brisbane.

For my last night in country, I decided to go all out and went to a great restaurant in the West End.  If you’re not interested in the “food channel”, you’ll want to stop reading about now.  Here’s the link to Tukka: http://tukkarestaurant.com.au/index.html  Here’s a quote that summarizes the experience of Tukka: “Tukka could so easily be the type of themed Australian place fit only for tourists, but it’s not. This is sophisticated dining, with local native produce beautifully cooked and presented – truly advanced Australian fare.” 

I’ll let the pictures tell the rest of the story.

Responses

  1. Your final Aussie blog. I’m glad the day went so well.

    Love,

    S

  2. […] with Marie & Peter for dinner in Brisbane at Tukka in the West End.  It’s where I dined my last night in AU in 2009 and LOVED it!  Sparky may starve that night because they serve animals and plants native to AU and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

